Tuesday, 26 January 2010

The Maccabees Feat. Root Manuva-Empty Vessels Video

A collaboration I was surprised to hear about was the coming together of indie rockers The Maccabees and Roots Manuva, while despite being slightly sceptical at first I am glad to say this works a treat.

This track is featured on the bands current album Wall Of Arms under the title No Kind Words, but with the new lyrics input from Roots the song itself was re-named Empty Vessels.
It was released as a single back in November but the video to the track has just surfaced.

"If you've got no kind words to say, you should say nothing more at all". Well I am going to be kind and say this is a fine re-working of an already great song.

Thursday, 21 January 2010

Retro Revival Club Presents The Len Price 3

Dublin collective The Retro Revival Club are back after a wee Christmas break with some great gigs for the new year and with a new venue for you to snoop out too.

The first gig takes place in Le Cirk on Dame Street on February 6th with garage combo The Len Price 3 headlining proceedings. The Wicked Cool signings are renowned for their organic yet fierce performances with fast paced garage rock tunes and have shared stages with the likes of the Libertines and Buff Medways.

Support on the night comes from Moutpiece & The Pacifics with PJ (Dirty Water Club), Recession Club DJs and Laura Lovejoy all spinning tunes over the night.

Door tax is a recession friendly €4 and you would be a fool to miss it.

Groove Armada - Paper Romance Video & Softwar Remix

Fresh from their new album Black Light out at the end of next month, Groove Armada return with the electro-disco, fuelled floor filler, Paper Romance.
It's an anthem to say the least and
the vocals on this track are courtesy of SaintSaviour and Ben from Fenech-Soler. Other collaborations on Black Light include Bryan Ferry and Nick Littlemore from Empire Of The Sun/Pnau so it makes for an interesting release.
Check out the video below.

There are a number of remixes of Paper Romance doing the rounds including this gorgeous effort from Softwar which I couldn't leave out of this post.

Groove Armada - Paper Romance - (Softwar Remix) by warmhq

Black Light is released in Ireland on February 26th and in the UK on March 1st 2010.

Wednesday, 20 January 2010

New Gorillaz track - Stylo and new album Plastic Beach tracklisting.

The brand track from Gorillaz, titled Stylo leaked on various sites today. This is from the hugely anticipated new album Plastic Beach which is released on March 5th in Ireland and 8th in the UK on Parlophone records.
Having heard the album I can confirm it's a cracking release and already an album of 2010 for me. It is innovative and fresh and the genius that is Damon Albarn is clearly not afraid to take risks when it comes to guests appearances and experimenting with different genres.
features Bobby Womack and Mos Def and you can hear the track HERE.

The full tracklisting to Plastic Beach is one to drool over with an astounding amount of guests and it goes as follows:

1. Orchestral Intro

2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg)

3. White Flag (feat.
Kano & Bashy)
4. Rhinestone Eyes

5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)

6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)

7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)

9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)

10. On Melancholy Hill

11. Broken

12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)

Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)

15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack)

16. Pirate Jet

Plastic Beach is released on March 5th in Ireland