Wednesday, 4 November 2009

These New Puritans to release new album in 2010.

Southend-On-Sea favourites These New Puritans have just announced details of their brand new studio album Hidden, released here on January 15th 2010. The album is produced by band members Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton and was mixed by the man who has mixed and produced for J Dilla, Madlib and MF DOOM, Dave Cooley. A note posted in the news section on the Domino Records website said 'the album draws equally on on the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, with instrumentation redolent of both the oceanic brass of Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes and the plastic textures of modern U.S. pop. It is sometimes brutal, sometimes melancholy, and sounds like nothing else'.

Instruments used in the recording of Hidden include; six-foot Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble and Foley recording techniques (including a melon with cream crackers attached struck by a hammer, used to simulate the sound of a human head being smashed)...lovely!
Angular Records shall be releasing the album in the UK and Ireland while Domino shall release the album worldwide.

The tracklisting is as follows:
1. Time Xone
2. We Want War
3. Three Thousand
4. Hologram
5. Attack Music
6. Fire–Power
7. Orion
8. Canticle
9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
10. White Chords
11. 5

No comments: