Wednesday, 7 January 2009

So it's 2009.....

Happy New Year one and all.
We are back after a wee festive break and ready to plummet head first into what we hope shall be a year full of musical delights.

First up we have a few artists that we are tipping to make some waves on the musical scale in 2009.

This Parisian trio fuse electro clash and indie together to deliver cool pop songs with high energy and a bit of grit. They formed in early 2008 and are currently unsigned but we're betting this won't be the case for very long.
The tune to check out: Snap Dragon

2. Heartsrevolution

Duo's these days are the new cool and Heartsrevolution are no exception to this formula. They are New York based and are signed to indie label Iheartcomix. Heartsrevolution produce choons that would leave Crystal Castles weeping in their wake as they know how to project the harder side of electro punk. Oh and who wouldn't like to tour in an ice cream van?!

The tune to check out: C.Y.O.A is pretty deadly!

3.The Ambience Affair

This Dublin based indie duo (see I told you it was all the rage) consist of Jamie Clarke on vocals and acoustic guitar and Marc Gallagher on drums. They met while working in a music shop together and after catching them live this pairing works. Best described as quirky indie folk, these guys are set to release an EP in February and tour throughout Ireland and the UK.

Check out their plausible cover of Final Fantasy's 'The CN Tower Belongs To The Dead'.

The Ambience Affair TV on MUZU.

4. Passion Pit

After releasing the excellent The Chunk Of Change EP in 2008, Boston's Passion Pit are like a balloon caught in the wind as they set for lift off worldwide. It is the brainchild of Michael Angelakos who originally wrote the EP as a present for his girlfriend for Valentines day and performs live with four other uber talented musicians. They may be musically compared to The Avalanches and The Postal Service but Passion Pit bring a sprinkling of good vibes and anyone who stumbles across them want some of that sparkle.
The tune to check out: Sleepyhead

5. Empire Of The Sun

Okay so a lot of people have been tipping this band to be one of the big new stars of 2009 but with good reason.
Empire Of the Sun are yes you have guessed it another duo, consisting of Luke Steele of The Sleepy Jackson fame and Pnau's Nick Littlemore. Their debut single 'Walking On A Dream' gets a UK and Ireland release next month as does their LP of the same name. Both Steele and Littlemore have combined the best elements of the Sleepy Jackson and Pnau to release a synth pop stomper. Stay tuned for a full album review this week.
The tune it check out: Walkin On A Dream

No comments: